The slump

It is almost mid year and I can say I’ve been in a slump for the past 3 months.

The year started well for me, I was full of energy, I was ready to work on my goals. I was optimistic. But for some reason, buy March I found myself on a slump, I was slacking, a simple task would take me forever to accomplish, I would constantly postpone my projects for many reasons, most of them were really futile.

I think the real reason is that my “projects” are not exactly what I “should” be working on now. I have so many issues and so many things going on in my life, and if I’m not working well on my goals that means my goals are not reflecting my “true life”, my true issues, my true problems, my true desires. I am still on a track that I swore I will quite to make my own path. Maybe I have not been honest with myself enough when I set my goals earlier this years.
Of course for some of my goals I was slacking because they do tackle the real issues I have, and that makes it hard for me to work on them, I am in my comfort zone, I know it and I know this is just me resisting getting out of it.

On the other hand I have been through some hard times recently, I was under a lot of stress at home and at work, I am reconsidering my relationships with lots of my “friends” and close people in my surroundings, and that too is a huge source of stress that makes working on any other goals near impossible.

Now that I look back at what I wrote above I see 3 possible reasons for this slump:

  • My “goals” are not really mine.
  • I don’t want to leave my comfort zone.
  • Lots of stress.

There could be more reasons. And it is possible that the reasons listed above are not true either, I might be misdiagnosing the situation. Or, one or tow of them might be true but not the rest.
Either way I need to figure out a way to get out of this slump and climb back to the road forward.
You can call this my quasi-mid-year check as I’m trying to hold myself accountable and check on my progress every quarter to see what is going well and what is not and what to do to make it right.
I have no idea how the rest of the year will go, anything could happen, and something tells me that I will be busy with more unpredictable issues that will come up along the way as the year moves forward.

I just hope that I can save the second half of the year. I really need to make any kind of progress and deal with the issues that are keeping me behind, or else, I will end up being frustrated about my life, and that is not a states I want to be at ever again.
I still have time. I can do a lot. Some courage and a good burst of energy is all I need for now to resume my long road ahead.

Changing a life. No one said it will be easy. But it is my choice, and I will move forward with it.

One Reply to “The slump”

Leave a Reply

