The Addictive Effect of “New Beginnings”

I’ve been in a rut for almost a year now.. I wrote about it many times, struggled to figure out its causes and to get out of it, but no matter what I do I always seem to be back to it. Eventually, I found my pace slowing down until I came to a total halt. As I consider this blog to be a record of my journey, I kept on blogging regularly since I started it couple of years ago to sum up and review my progress every week. Not finding anything to blog about for the past few weeks meant that I made no ‘significant’ progress. This is when I realized how deep the rut is.

For the past weeks I’ve been thinking, what went wrong exactly? I had a strong start in 2016-2017, I was working on several things one after the other, and it was going well, so is it fatigue? Boredom? Overwhelm? Or simply, have I reached the maximum I can do? Neither of these answers convinced me.

Then, as I was talking to my friends on taking up an online course on Coursera, I got excited about it, and it hit me! I am already going on the right track, I’m doing the things I wanted to do, I am maintaining a successful Youtube channel that continues to grow, I’m learning the piano I always wanted to learn, I’m doing progress -even if still in very small chunks every time- with my family and my entourage..
So maybe this is not a rut I’m in, maybe I am in a ‘stabilizing phase’, time needed to digest all that after doing everything in a very narrow time interval, time where all the ‘new things’ are becoming a normal part of my life, which is what I was aiming for, so this is actually a success!

Maybe I got so used to the feeling of excitement tied to the ‘newness’ factor of things that I forgot that it is not meant to last forever.. I need to feel the excitement of the new beginnings again, to feel the new neurons forming in my brain and firing up on all cylinders again! Being addicted to “new beginnings” is a dangerous thing, but I can channel it into a good way.. I can use it to get excited about something that will never fail to add a new value in my life while expanding my brain and exciting me every time… Maybe it’s time “To learn”.

And so I encouraged myself to take up “Learning How to Learn” course, to inspire myself and put my brain into a little action. From one side the subject is really interesting and it will help me with a lot of difficulties I have always been facing in learning since I was in college, and from another side, it is a new project that will help me stay alerted trying to organize everything and juggle a new ball in the air and focus on finding a good place for it in my already busy life.

Today I started the course, and put it in my schedule, I should be doing it with friends but I am totally OK if I do it alone, hoping that I can find again a weekly post to publish here, signaling that I am back on track, learning, growing, morphing, and blooming!

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment