My New 3 Pillars Wellness System

This year’s main focus is wellness. Through trial and error over the past couple of years, I have come to realize that the main pillars of my health and wellness are nutrition, fitness, sleep. Individual efforts in each of these domains won’t help, my approach must be comprehensive and involves all 3 domains. So I decided to work on all 3 choosing small bites mini goals every time.

The system is designed to work for 3 months at a time. Each month can have a specific focus on its own. I designed it for my traveler notebook, it has 3 monthly habit trackers, weekly plan for my workouts with a place to fill in body measurements, weekly meal planner with a shopping list as a foldout, weekly journal to write about my sleep, then a page to sum up the results of my efforts on monthly basis. Like this: (It’s all Arabic as you see)

The idea is that I would introduce small changes on each level that would all work together in harmony to strengthen my wellbeing. So I would 1st work on eating healthy snacks at work and plan for that weekly, and I would put a simple workout plan that has elements that help relax my body at night to allow me to have a better sleep (and on the days I’m not doing that I would use my treadmill), and choose a habit to implement that would strengthen my sleeping habits like setting a solid night routine.

So far it is working well, sleep still needs a lot of work I can’t get myself to do it properly still. But snacks and workouts are going just fine and if I kept on going well until mid-March (I started in mid-February) I will then introduce a new habit in each domain.

Few notes left to end: I had to start mid-February since I was traveling during the first week of the month, and I have to end by mid-May because this is when Ramadan starts and all routines shift for a month, so I want to be ready by then.

This project is huge! 3 months of pure concentration on 3 new habits. So this project shall be the only thing I work on for the 1st month at least, if not all 3 of them, so I limited myself on any other projects I would take on. The only thing I have to keep in sync with this wellness project is piano training. I have been aiming at prolonging my piano training periods to reach 1 hour. I think I can do it because I’m not trying to ‘make’ the habit of training, but only make it longer.

Let’s see how it will go.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment