We have a vision.. Now let’s set goals.

I told you how I found my life vision, I’m not going to give details about it yet, but I will tell you what my 2019 goals are.. They all contribute one way or another into reaching this vision. Note that not all of them are due in the same time of course, each one of those is the focus of a different month of the year.

This year’s main focus, is my wellness. My biggest, hardest projects that I talked about in a previous post and how I planned it out on paper. If I manage to get nothing else done this year then it’s a win.. If I managed to do everything else but not this one, then it’s a loss. I had to travel late January and early February so I started this project mid-Feb once I came back home.. Initially it’s a 3 months project and I’ll keep adding up every time I sense I got a good result.

Next is a family goal. I need to re-bond with my brother. Life kinda took us apart and I need to get this bond back.. He travels half the week for his work and spends the other half with us at home but my brother is, kinda on a ‘different time zone’ if I may say, so sometimes days go by and we barely see each other. I’m thinking of having a long talk with him on lazy Friday mornings.. Of course as usual I need to start small and give things time to develop organically, not to enforce anything, if one day he or I are not in the mode for this, then I’ll make it another day, the important thing is that this session MUST happen weekly.. I have reasons to believe that he will be helping me out with this.

For work I had to study for a course and that was already done in January. But what I really need now is to schedule time to keep on reading and engaging with the course material, because it’s not a one time thing, this is actually a multi-phases course that -if I do it well- might end up making a huge shift in my career and maybe my entire life.

For Agenda Youtube channel I need to start batching the channel work on quarterly basis.. Every quarter I shall prepare the entire quarter’s scrips or at least ideas. That sounds difficult, we’re talking about 10 weeks worth of ideas (that’s a lot for me!) but I’m going for a new system this year which is to dedicate a certain theme for each month, I started by dedicating the month of March to the issue of “Planning and Organizing Post-Graduate Studies”, so deciding on each month’s theme shall not be that hard. If still not possible, then I shall batch the work on monthly basis. It will take me a lot of work at the beginning of every quarter but will save me A LOT of time and effort and focus and even peace of mind for months to come.

That leads me to the next goal which is developing design skills by learning professional editing programs to properly design my planners. I still don’t plan on selling them or making a business out of them but I do want to learn how to make them better, for me and anyone who would like to have a copy for free. If I manage to organize the channel’s work properly I’ll have plenty of time throughout the month to learn something new. I’m using Linux on my computer so I’ll be looking for design programs for it. That shouldn’t be hard considering it’s an open source eco-system.

Another goal that also needs time and focus is learning piano. It was a huge goal that I managed to achieve last year but this is a long term goal it takes years. Last year the goal was to start it and train daily no matter how long just to keep the habit going. Now that the habit is well established I’ll looking this year to prolong my daily training sessions to reach an entire solid hour.

On the spiritual level I’m waiting for the month of Ramadan (this year it’s due in May) as the perfect occasion to resume reading Quran’s interpretations.. I stopped doing that last year after the channel work grew and took over my weekend mornings where my reading sessions took place. It made me really sad and I want to resume it.

Finances and revising my spendings and making sure my budget is still Ok is another goal. It will take place sometime during the second half of the year.. I’m doing well budget wise (I might post something about how I did it some other time) but I need to double check just to make sure everything is going well.

A goal that I always wanted to do but never got to make it is volunteering.. I always wanted to do that but as an extrovert volunteering outlets (that I already know so little about) were not exactly my favorite things.. Too many people involved! So instead I focused on the channel as a way to give back until I figure out something. Then, last year I came to meet a new friend who has an NGO where I can volunteer and be around people who are not entirely strangers! I think I’ll give it a shot this year.

And last but not least, Project Purge is back! After the success I had with it in 2017, I decided to resume it this year. This time it will be harder and I might have to buy new storage units, and since there is a pretty good chance that we will move to another house soon enough, so I’m waiting to see how things will go with the move before I start buying the units.

There are some more goals that I wanted to work on this year but the ones above are the more pressing and will take time, and I don’t want to distract or overload myself so I made a “waiting list” of all the goals that can be done in each area of the above whenever I finish one of them.

Here we go.


Leave a comment